Hockey Critic

NHL hands out annual awards

Less than a week after the Stanley Cup was awarded to the Carolina Hurricanes, the NHL hosted its annual awards ceremony in Toronto. The highlight of the night was Joe Thornton, who took home dual honours by winning the Art Ross (scoring leader) and Hart (MVP) trophies. He was joined by teammate Jonathan Cheechoo along with Alexander Ovechkin, Nicklas Lidstron, Miikka Kiprusoff, Rod Brind'Amour, Pavel Datsyuk, Lindy Ruff, Teemu Selanne and Olaf Kolzig.

Here is the complete list of winners:

Art Ross Trophy (Scoring leader) - Joe Thornton (San Jose Sharks)
Hart Trophy (MVP) - Joe Thornton (San Jose Sharks)
Maurice Richard Trophy (Top goal scorer) - Jonathan Cheechoo (San Jose Sharks)
Clader Memorial Trophy (Top rookie) - Alexander Ovechkin (Washington Capitals)
James Norris Memorial Trophy (Top defenseman) - Nicklas Lidstrom (Detroit Red Wings)
Vezina Trophy (Top goalie) - Miikka Kiprusoff (Calgary Flames)
Frank J. Selke Trophy (Top defensive forward) - Rod Brind'Amour (Carolina Hurricanes)
Jack Adams Trophy (Top coach) - Lindy Ruff (Buffalo Sabres)
Lady Byng Trophy (Sportsmanship) - Pavel Datsyuk (Detroit Red Wings)
Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy (Comeback player) - Teemu Selanne (Anaheim Ducks)
King Clancy Memorial Trophy (Humanitarian contribution) - Olaf Kolzig (Washington Capitals)
posted at 22:00:33 on 06/25/06 by HockeyCritic - Category: Hockey Talk


No comments yet

Hockey Critic

Add Comments